Major League Baseball’s Secret Plan for June Start: 100 Games. 3 Divisions. 0 Fans.

Sports fans are having a rough time during this pandemic, as the current social distancing guidelines make it nearly impossible for any sort of live action, and certainly no fans in the stands.

Given just how little we know about this strain of coronavirus, and just how wildly contagious it is, it was beginning to feel like we were just going to toss the 2020 sporting season aside, throw an asterisk in the record book, and try again next year.

America’s national pastime doesn’t have time for that sort of negativity, apparently.

Major League Baseball officials have become cautiously optimistic this week that the season will start in late June, and no later than July 2, playing at least 100 regular-season games, according to three executives with knowledge of the talks. They requested anonymity because the plan is still under consideration.

And not only would baseball be played, but it would be played in their own major-league ballparks, albeit with no fans.

MLB is considering a three-division, 10-team plan in which teams play only within their division – a concept gaining support among owners and executives. It would abolish the traditional American and National Leagues, and realign the divisions based on geography.

The plan, pending approval of medical experts and providing that COVID-19 testing is available to the public, would eliminate the need for players to be in isolation and allow them to still play at their home ballparks while severely reducing travel.

Even more interesting is the three division arrangement that they’ve reportedly been working on.


  • New York Yankees and Mets, Boston Red Sox, Washington Nationals, Baltimore Orioles, Philadelphia Phillies, Pittsburgh Pirates, Toronto Blue Jays, Tampa Bay Rays, Miami Marlins


  • Los Angeles Dodgers and Angels, San Francisco Giants, Oakland Athletics, San Diego Padres, Arizona Diamondbacks, Colorado Rockies, Texas Rangers, Houston Astros, Seattle Mariners


  • Chicago Cubs and Chicago White Sox, Milwaukee Brewers, St. Louis Cardinals, Kansas City Royals, Cincinnati Reds, Cleveland Indians, Minnesota Twins, Atlanta Braves, Detroit Tigers